Life: My Little Love Story

I’ve mentioned Katie-Jo quite a bit on my blog now so I thought it was about time I introduced her properly. We met on the 16th September 2013 in our first year of university. Her room was opposite mine in our own little corridor in our shared house.

I remember her standing in my door way looking incredible wearing a pair of white jeans on the first or second night of freshers. I think I have most certainly ‘fancied’ her since then and if not I have definitely found her incredibly attractive since then. We spent quite a lot of freshers together, I remember one night when we were sat in the kitchen for hours, another night when I pretended to be a spacewoman with a bin on my head planking on the floor resulting in me cutting my chin open.

We gradually went everywhere together even resulting in me going back to Cardiff with her one weekend to see her family. I think I’ve pretty much been to Cardiff with her every time since. Minus last Christmas, which felt like we were apart forever!

I looked after her when she was ill, she was always there when I needed someone to talk to, we even ended up sleeping in each other beds because we would just fall asleep talking or watching films.

It was weird when we ended up having to go back home for the summer, I felt like a part of me was missing. I ended up going to Cardiff for Katie-Jo’s birthday – yet again she looked incredible! We even planned a spur of the moment weekend the week before we were due to move back to Bournemouth for Cardiff Pride and again I ended up staying with her. Saying goodbye to each other after Pride was weird, neither of us seemed to want to do it. Where as we’d normally be making fun of each other we could barely speak to each other.

By the end of my weekend in Cardiff for Pride I couldn’t wait to move back to Bournemouth. I had always found her attractive but no matter how many people told us ‘we should be together’ or ‘we would make a good couple’ we were both adamant that we were just friends. It wasn’t until I saw her car come around the corner, she was late, as usual, that I knew there was definitely something more between us, there had always been ‘moments’ when I thought what if, but always shook them off thinking that it would ruin the amazing friendship we had.

When we moved into our new house in Bournemouth Katie-Jo started her new job straight away and quite honestly I felt like a lost puppy. I didn’t know what to do with myself as the previous year (last year) we had spent basically all day every day together.

On the 7th October 2013 we had had a few drinks and as alcohol does it makes you a little bit more confident. I knew I really ‘liked’ Katie-Jo but wasn’t entirely sure that she felt the same so I kept holding her hand and seeing if I could get any sense of her feeling the same, which I definitely did when she kissed me! We carried on kissing practically all night. Before we went to sleep I remember her asking me ‘What’s going to happen in the morning’ and I replied with ‘I’ll kiss you’ and true to my word the next morning I did exactly that. However we cooled things off until the 9th October 2013 and we have been together ever since then!

On the 17th April 2014 I decided to propose to Katie-Jo. I had been planning it for a while but I couldn’t decide when to actually ask her. I had everything to do it so when I went to pick up the ring I got way too excited and decided to do it that day. I was so scared that she would say no I spent ages on the phone to my Mum. I asked her Mum’s permission to make sure that it was okay. I had even let her best friend in on it when we visited her in London. I spent ages decorating the living room with ballons and petals, I had had a banner made, I went to the florist and bought her some flowers (a very daunting process when the florist asked me what I was looking for seeing as I have no idea about flowers!), I roped in one of our housemates to help me blow up some balloons. I even hid a camera in the room to be able to capture it. I wanted it to be special and I knew (because she had specifically told me that she didn’t want anyone else there) that it had to be somewhere just the two of us – so where better than the place than where we had our first kiss!

On Friday the 1st August we will be moving into our first house together, just the two of us, and I can’t wait. I’m really looking forward to seeing where she grew up properly, being able to see her family, and meeting new people.

I can’t wait for our future together and what it holds – going on holidays together, being able to spend Christmas together, getting married, having kids!

– Stacey xo

Leave a comment